F Class?

What does "F" class mean? I started shooting more competitively last year and shot alot of .22LR in pinshoots, etc...out to about 200yds. I also shot some action pistol and "action" rifle with my M4. I would like to get into some more distance shooting. Out around 600-1000yds. I have seen a ton of video of "F" class matches and they appear to be shooting mostly modified Rem 700's with optics...I was under the impression that most "Hi-Power" in the northeast was shot with AR's and iron sights...can anyone shed some light to the rookie? Thanks.

F-class is prone-only, usually at the longer yardages (300-500-600).

Traditional "Highpower" is done with iron sights and various positions and yardages.

Thumbnail:
F class comes in 2 flavors, all shot prone, and at at least 600 yards. on an MR1FC target

F-open (F/O) which allows anything .35 cal and under, any scopes, and sleds or supports of most any kind. Fast flat-shooting calibers and highly customized "race" guns abound here. (6mmBR, etc.).

F Target Rifle (F/TR) can only use military calibers, essentially .223 or .308 (or NATO equivalent), and usually involve more spartan tactical rifles and accessories (fixed bipods), and often lower powered scopes (10X Mildot for instance).

A military/service rifle class, with open sights and slings are also fired at any/any shoots, and use the larger MR1 target.

Full rules:

F-Class Target Rifle (F-TR) - A rifle restricted to the chambers of unmodified .308 Winchester/7.62mm NATO or unmodified .223 Remington/5.56mm X 45 NATO cartridge cases. The rifle must be fired off a bipod, rigidly attached to the rifle’s for-end, and/or a sling. Any bipod, meeting the definition of a bipod, may be used but its weight must be included in the rifle’s overall weight. Any safe, manually operated trigger is permitted. Any sighting system is permitted, but it must be included in the rifle’s overall weight.
The provisions of Rules 3.16 and 3.16.1 apply to this definition.