• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

First Time Hunter -- Need Any and All Advice

I'm brand new to hunting but a buddy at work got me into it. I'm going to take a hunter safety course in order to get my license but I have no idea where to go from there. Literally.

I picked up a Mosin Nagant at the beginning of the Summer which I still need to sight in (it's been a long time since I've shot ANY of my guns) so this is what I'll be hunting with. My knowledge is minimal and my questions are many.

Firstly, WHERE to hunt. How do I know where to hunt and how do I know that hunting is allowed in a certain area? How do I go about it? Should I wait somewhere or keep on the move? I know it's possible without a tree stand and I don't want to sink too much money into something I may not enjoy. Is there a way to get deer (which is what I'm going after first) to come to me? What if I do shoot one? What is the best way to transport it and what do I do with it afterward? My dad knows a guy who will butcher it but what do I do with the animal in the meantime? What if I put the deer down but it's still alive? I know some people suggest a sidearm to "finish" the job. Is this wise? When is the best time to hunt?

Ok, plenty of questions. Please feel free to answer as many or as little as you like. I know there's a lot.

Thanks!

Firstly, WHERE to hunt. How do I know where to hunt and how do I know that hunting is allowed in a certain area?
Try some of the Wildlife Management Areas, a link has been provided by pupchow. Or ask around for permission to hunt private land.

How do I go about it? Should I wait somewhere or keep on the move? I know it's possible without a tree stand and I don't want to sink too much money into something I may not enjoy.