I broke the law the other day

Im a NH resident so obviously I can stop at a gun shop and buy whatever I want.
My office is in Westford MA. I stopped at a gun shop on the way to to office the other day and bought a box of 9mm shells and a pack of targets, then drove to office.

Had I stopped on the way home instead of the way to work , Everything would have been perfectly legal.
By stopping on the way in I became a criminal, thats screwed up!

so if I drove to Mass to shoot (snow balls chance in hell in that happening) cowboy action at Harvard, then I'd be breaking Mass law?

so if I drove to Mass to shoot (snow balls chance in hell in that happening) cowboy action at Harvard, then I'd be breaking Mass law?

No, not as long as the event is formalized somehow. Get a flyer for the
event and your butt is covered at that point. (Theres an exception in MGL
for formal competition... )

-Mike

You need to have your firearm locked and secured with the ammo separate. You need to have a flyer advertising that it's a sanctioned event (competition). You drive to the location. You drive immediately home after the event.

And, as a warning to any non-MA person who doesn't have a MA NR license. You can't even have an empty cartridge case in your possession (yes, really) if you are not licensed.

And, as a warning to any non-MA person who doesn't have a MA NR license. You can't even have an empty cartridge case in your possession (yes, really) if you are not licensed.

that does it, I'm never coming to Mass again. (well at least not in my car, I have to go there more often then I'd like in the ambulance)

I always leave my ammo bags in the trunk of my car...and occasionally a gun too, but the ammo just stays there. and I would say there's a better then 50% chance of finding an empty case or even a (GASP [shocked] ) loose bullet or 2 somewhere in the car that's gotten loose from the bag.