I didn't think I was a builder

Garys

NES Member
Well, I'm still not sure about it either. Back last Summer when I decided I'd like start shooting my almost 30 y/o 10/22 I also started looking at stuff on Ebay for it.

I ended up buying a kit to "accurize" the rifle. Trigger springs, shims, recoil buffer, automatic bolt release, and so on. I spent a couple of hours taking the rifle apart and putting the new parts in. There was some cursing going on, but overall, not too bad a job. I took it down to the range and wonder of wonders, it shot just fine. It looks stock, but has a lot of new parts.

Anyway, I bought another 10/22 a few weeks ago at Marlboro. This one is Stainless and a beauty. At first I wasn't going to do anything to it, but you know how that went. First, I bought an automatic bolt release and put it in. Then, I ordered a recoil buffer and a stainless retaining screw. Now, I have a trigger kit AND a used laminated stock on the way. The stock is Ruger Grey laminate that is functionally the same as the Walnut one that the rifle came with. It just LOOKS better with the stainless.

Of course I got a Brownell's catalog and there's a million different parts in it as well as tools. I've started to think that maybe I could actually build or improve a 1911. I was even looking at some Mosin Nagant 91/30 barrelled receivers and thinking I could make a custom rifle.

Look what you people have done to me! <G>

Gary

Same here! Got a Preban AR a couple weeks ago "just in case" I'd ever want to put something interesting on it. All that's left of the original now is the charging handle, magazine latch, and what I should've just bought as a stripped lower! (How did that all happen so quickly?) Oh, it's plenty interesting now

Now my Para .40 1911 gets scared when I look at it...

The 10/22 is a fun little rifle to build on, especially after you learn how to get the *%#&@! bolt to go back in right. LOL