I got all choked up. :)

So, I'm sitting in my chair today watching Top Shot. My 6 yr old daughter wanted to watch a cartoon. So, I told her, eat your dinner and I'll watch this until you are done.

She finishes her dinner and says to me, "Dad, I don't want to watch a cartoon anymore, I want to finish watching this."

That's not the part that 'choked me up'. At one point I asked her, "Isn't it really neat how they can shoot the targets and hit what the are aiming at?" She replied, "Yeah. I want to do that when I get older. I want to be a gun kid".

<sniffle sniffle>

Hold on...I'll be right back...

OK..I'm composed now. :)

So, if I want to get my girl going on this, what is the best way to start her out. BB-Gun (Daisy air gun type of thing)?

I'm new to guns as well and am working on getting my Class A LTC. I want to encourage my daughter, what is the best safest way?

Thanks in advance for the suggestions

Craig

A BB/pellet gun or a single shot 22 rifle would be fine as long as she knows all the safe handling and firing rules. It is great that she is expressing interest. Let her learn at the rate she feels comfortable.

For us it was cheapo airsoft, then BB gun, then .22 Cricket, and just recently a Spike's .22 dedicated AR upper. She's not a bad shot either. [smile]

Even more basic - no gun shaped object is a toy, no pointing at people, muzzle sweeping, etc.

I don't have kids but we took my buddy's son out with his "o/u" - safe handling every step of the way even while climbing rock walls, etc. I was very impressed and told him so - He'll be five come fall

I almost bought a Cricket for my 6 year old last weekend from Dicks. Between them trying to find the box for said rifle (almost 20 minutes) and then finding their stash of 4473's (almost 30 minutes) I had to leave as I have more important things to do - like watching paint dry.

[SARCASM]I'll go back when I have 4 or 5 hours with nothing else to do.[/SARCASM]