Just got myself a Dillon RL-550B at Shooter's Outpost today.

timbo

Navy Veteran
NES Member
...and can't wait to set it up. Unfortunately, it probably won't be for a few days at least. I picked it up with a .223 caliber setup.

I couldn't make up my mind if I was going to go with 223 or 45acp first. I decided I shoot 223 more than 45 right now. I'll grab the 45 setup in a few weeks.

I've been loading on an RCBS Jr press for about 25 years...I will still keep that as it's always good to keep a single stage around for low volume stuff and it's still as reliable as the day I bought it.

I have a Lee press I bought a few years ago at a yard sale that I will be pawning off...I mean giving to a friend of mine that wants to get into reloading.

Last edited:
I've been looking at them for several years but could never come up with the spare cash. I just started repairing guitar amps again for friends and a music store so now I have a bit of extra money.

I used to do the repair stuff full time up until 4 or 5 years ago but decided I liked a nice steady 9-5 job so I do this repair stuff at night and on weekends. It does cut into my other spare time stuff (like reloading) but once I get back into the swing of things again, I'll be able to devote some time getting this Dillon set up.

Last edited:
Nice, I'm going to go progressive at some point. I don't have the time I used to to load everything on the single stage.

That (in .45 and 9mm) is probably my next purchase. Can I ask what it cost with the kit? I'm inclined to go to Shooters as well rather than online

you're going to love that 550.
it doesn't shine as much with rifle brass IMHO. I feel that way because the rifle brass prep breaks up the operations that normally make any progressive fast. Wait till you load some 45 ACP on that thing. You'll be in love with it.