Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act of 2004

JonJ

NES Member
Just to pull this discussion out of the other thread in case anyone wants to continue.

For retiree's this is the language on the qualification requirement.
during the most recent 12-month period, has met, at the expense of the individual, the State's standards for training and qualification for active law enforcement officers to carry firearms;

I'm a MPTC certified firearms instructor. What's to stop me from running any retired Massachusetts LEO through the standard MPTC course of fire for QUAL? There are no other state standards for the LEOSA and it seems pretty clear to me in the above langua

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

EOPS will have to sign off on any such retired officer training and Ron Glidden/GCAB has had terrible time with past 2 Sec of Public Safety officials on getting their sign-off on anything.

Last Ron told me, don't expect anything in the near future!

We can all hope that the new Sec of PS is a different sort of person, but only time will tell.

Problem Jon is that retirees are required by LEOSA to meet the "state standards" and we have NO "state standards" . . . they are merely recommendations.

In contrast, active LEOs are only supposed to meet "department standards, IF ANY", so for folks like me (Constable) there are no "department standards" and thus I don't need to qualify at all. Crazy but that is how this dumb law was written/passed.

LenS said:
Problem Jon is that retirees are required by LEOSA to meet the "state standards" and we have NO "state standards" . . . they are merely recommendations.

In contrast, active LEOs are only supposed to meet "department standards, IF ANY", so for folks like me (Constable) there are no "department standards" and thus I don't need to qualify at all. Crazy but that is how this dumb law was written/passed.