MA Resident buying and keeping in maine

Hi all,

I'm a MA resident but go to school in Maine... I'd like to buy a rifle to use for target practice in Maine. I'm not licensed in MA, but I live in Maine for most of the year.

So, would I need to change my residency in order to purchase in Maine, or can I buy the gun as an unlicensed MA resident? And if I need to change my residency, is getting a ME ID enough or would I need to get a new license?

Thanks for the help.

Welcome to NES!

The BATFE has ruled that as a student, you are a resident of ME while at school, and as such can purchase rifles/shotguns (subject to ME laws)...

27 CFR 178.11: MEANING OF TERMS

An out-of-State college student may establish residence in a State by residing and maintaining a home in a college dormitory or in a location off-campus during the school term.

ATF Rul. 80-21

"State of residence" is defined by regulation in 27 CFR 178.11 as the State in which an individual regularly resides or maintains a home. The regulation also provides an example of an individual who maintains a home in State X and a home in State Y. The individual regularly resides in State X except for the summer months and in State Y for the summer months of the year. The regulation states that during the time the individual actually resides in State X he is a resident of State X, and during the time he actually resides in State Y he is a resident of State Y.

Applying the above example to out-of-State college students it is held, that during the time the students actually reside in a college dormitory or at an off-campus location they are considered residents of the State where the dormitory or off-campus home is located. During the time out-of-State college students actually reside in their home State they are considered residents of their home State.

[ATFB 1980-4 25]

http://www.atf.gov/regulations-rulings/rulings/atf-rulings/atf-ruling-80-21.pdf