Price of Ammo

KDK

I don't know if this question has been asked and answered already but I will ask anyways. Why is ammo so expensive? Is it simply a matter of supply and demand? Is it inflation? Regulation? (I studied some econ and regulations can create deficits that artificially raise prices e.g. Glocks in MA) Why is a box of 9mm $10 and .40 $17? Is the differing amount of lead and copper that significant? Where is the most economical place to purchase ammo? Is reloading the only way to go? Have I just answered my own questions?

I don't know if this question has been asked and answered already but I will ask anyways. Why is ammo so expensive? Is it simply a matter of supply and demand? Is it inflation? Regulation? (I studied some econ and regulations can create deficits that artificially raise prices e.g. Glocks in MA) Why is a box of 9mm $10 and .40 $17? Is the differing amount of lead and copper that significant? Where is the most economical place to purchase ammo? Is reloading the only way to go? Have I just answered my own questions?

Lead just increased $0.10 a pound in the last week alone. It does not take too many bullets to make a pound. Also, that weight leads to greater shipping costs. Copper is also a high flyer these days. Copper is used in the jacket and is combined with zinc to make the brass. So in bulk the per pound price is now, lead $1, copper is $4, zinc is $1. Five years ago copper was a $1 a pound ($ quadrupled in 5 years), lead went from $0.25 to $1 in the same period (It actually went down $0.50 from $1.50 in the last year thank god) and zinc increased by only 2x in the same time to $0.90 (it had gone to $1.60 a year ago...). Add in shipping prices and the cost of the gun powder, and you can see how doubling of raw resources can easily add a 2x increase in retail cost. Given the 4x increase, well, you have the point.