Scouting for Deer (first time)

Left the Communistwealth for Live Free or Die!
So I am new to Deer hunting. Taking the hunting course this spring. (I have hunted pheasant on private property, my only experience).

Anyway, I am up at my cabin in Maine and tommorow I am heading out to do some scouting via snowshoe before the snow melts. I am looking to find some trails and bedding areas (I have found one bedding area accidentally already).
My question is, am I being premature here? What are the chances the deer will still be hanging out on the same trails and bedding areas come hunting season?

Real good...deer are creatures of habit and providing nothing pushes them out of there they will be there next year. That why guys hunt the same areas year after year....the only caveat is if the snow was sooooooo deeeeeep that deer were yarding up and staying in a very small area; they may change their trends when the snow is all gone....but we are talking a ton of snow with little or no feed

I think the deer should still be yarded up. Some think that it is not cool to pressure them while yarded as they have little food and little reserve left.

There is a question as to how much useful information you could gather as they have moved into yards and away from their normal feeding/bedding areas.

Perhaps a Maine hunter could weigh in with the local perspective.

Respectfully,

jkelly

Some people hunt all year long for many decades. You want to be able to name your deer ahead of time so you know "who" you are shooting. You will know when and where it eats and sleeps, who its children are, ...

Oh, I guess I'm dreaming of my other life again. Gotta go rent Jeremiah Johnson.

I would say average depth this year was about 2.5 feet, however the thicket i am planning on scouting has great evergreen canopy and less snow than heavy hardwood areas on average. Your comments are well taken.