So I get to take a trip to Lawrence...

For a school project on the MVRTA, we have to go there to hand out surveys and what not. Or something like that they still havent decided.

Anyway I've heard some not so nice things about Lawrence so I'm guessing it would be a good idea to carry. Am I wrong?

There is no more or less reason to carry in Lawrence than in any other city or town.

As Raoul said, it's part of the world in general and whatever caution you display elsewhere should be exercised there as well. Just don't go in predisposed to see trouble around every corner.

I have been frequenting Lawrence for the past 18 years and, though perhaps my comfort with the city is due to my familiarity with it (or certain parts of it), nonetheless I have never found it threatening.

Lynn, on the other hand...

Yeah, I worked in Lawrence around 8 years ago. There were cars stolen from our parking lot pretty much each day, until the building management hired two full-time guards to stand in the parking lot all day long!

There are some areas of Lawrence I would not go into without a gun. Then there are some areas I go into routinely and feel perfectly safe (Sal's restaraunt, Jackson lumber, Yokohama Japanese steakhouse, etc). Stay to the main sections, stay south of the lawrence river, and you are safe. Go 10 blocks northeast of the lawrence river and it starts getting dicey.

Lawrence
Lynn
Lowell
Holyoke
Springfield
Brockton
Fall River
New Bedford
and Boston = Carry two magazine and a hot spare cities.

If you have an ALP, IMO you should carry ALL the time, or you shouldn't carry at all.

And FWIW I've yet to be anywhere in Mass that made me really nervous. Take a walk in Inglewood CA on a Sat night and you'll see my point.

Chelsea? [laugh]

Go to any "real" ghetto like Oakland, CA or San Antonio TX & you'll realize that all we have in MA are a bunch of little punks trying to get street cred.

-they are more dangerous IMO as they are trying to prove themselves.