Tactical Build on a Ruger SR1911

Something kind of extreme, but it ended up exactly how I wanted it.

DSC02142_zps146299ed.jpg

DSC02122_zpsb3a534b5.jpg

DSC02143_zps0244a30e.jpg

DSC02152_zps663be017.jpg

DSC02139_zps1f414032.jpg

DSC02140_zps1c75fbdc.jpg

DSC02130_zps5938b63a.jpg

DSC02125_zpsdd36e948.jpg

I'm a Machinist, so I had the pleasure of doing all the work myself.

Flatted the top of the slide
Chamfered the base of the slide
Front cocking serrations to match the factory rear serrations
Flush Crowned barrel to bushing
Flushed / Beveled slide catch
Machined out the dust cover and had an aircraft certified TIG welder weld in place a Novak rail
Used black oxide tool blackener to black out the sides of the hammer
Tuned trigger to 4 1/2 #'s

Installed the following

Novak fiber optic front sight
Wilson full length guide rod
STI Polymer trigger (Adjustable for pre travel can't recommend this part enough.)
Cheap black textured grips
Ed Brown drop in Maxi well

I didn't do any "reliability" modifications, as none seemed necessary and still don't. I've put better than 2K rounds through it since I finished it, scored several perfect scores at the clubs pin matches. Even made my own custom Kydex holster for it so that I could use it for some tactical shooting based gaming. Was super pleased how well the kydex came out, stuff really is easy to work with.

My sort of motivation was a fancy nighthawk custom tactical model a buddy showed me, I saw the picture, then the price tag, and went, WOAH . . . I could make something like that . . .

Finished the gun a little while ago, but a buddy recently took these nice pictures for me, credit for the pics to Will Belknap of Nonquitt Studios. Pictures came out so nice I had to share.

First things first: WOW!!! That thing looks GREAT!!! I just picked one up, and now I'm quite jealous of yours.