14.5" Mid-Length Problems?

Still fairly new to AR's but felt ambitious enough to jump into my first AR build last week, and have a barrel question that I have seen discussed on other forums, but not here...

My decision was to go with a 14.5" (pinned and welded), and I found a pretty good deal on one that I might buy - but it's a mid length, and the feedback I have been reading elsewhere is that they can been problematic if not built carefully, and won't run well with cheaper ammo - i.e. short stroking (insert Peter Griffin laugh) and related problems.

Like I said, this is my first build so I'm not banking on hitting one out of the park or building anything super fancy, but just looking for a fun, reliable AR in the end. As for ammo, I tend to shoot whatever I can get my hands on these days [sad2] (although it's looking brighter)... Any advice on this? Input on gas tube/block set-up and BCG choice? Should I just steer clear of this middie and wait until I've been around the block with a few different builds? I'm still considering a 16" too..

Much thanks for the help!

Save the headache and just go with a 16. Way more choices in barrels and no grief. I just don't understand the attraction to 14.5 barrels unless you are going to SBR it.

I have a 14.5" light weight mid length from Spikes that I scored cheap. I pinned a BCM comp on it, and it is a very flat shooter, I love it.

As long as the gas port is in spec and the buffer weight is matched, you won't have any problems.

IMG_3262_zps10ad14bf.jpg

Last edited:
I have a 14.5" light weight mid length from Spikes that I scored cheap. I pinned a BCM comp on it, and it is a very flat shooter, I love it.

As long as the gas port is in spec and the buffer weight is matched, you won't have any problems.

Ed are you using the standard carbine buffer are one of the heavy versions?