.223 reloading observations

Hey everyone, I'm quite new to reloading but wanted to post a couple observations I made on my first few .223 rounds and gain some feedback.

Brass being used is a mixed bag of once fired winchester and lake city (these were both fired out of my Sig 556 previously).

Spec for case neck width of a .223 case is .253". My reloads are averaging (with a 77gr sierra matchking bthp loaded and no crimp) .247" and none are anywhere near .250".

Is this normal? I know with my 45acp the brass shrinks with each firing, and that may be the case with the case neck width in the .223. If this is not the case, however, I would think with the case neck this tight that seating a bullet would be difficult, but I can seat a bullet with only finger pressure on my Lee Classic Cast. I'm assuming seating a bullet is supposed to be much easier than resizing efforts, but correct me if I'm wrong since I am new at this and have not yet developed the "feel."

I cycled some rounds through my Sig 556, some lightly crimped with a Lee FCD, others with no crimp like the one stated above. Even after cycling the same round 3 times cartridge OAL only changed by .002" at the very most, and the majority changed .001" or less. This leads me to believe that perhaps crimping, even though these bullets are 77gr matchkings with a cannelure, may not be necessary? Even so, should I apply a light crimp anyway to ensure uniform case neck tension on the bullet?

I'd appreciate any input on the above 2 observations. I just want to make sure I'm doing everything correctly. Thanks!

If your necks are sized properly during the full length resizing, you don't need to crimp.... PERIOD!

If you have done any reading here, this statement has been made by most of our experienced reloaders, over and over and over again.