A little ways out, but applying for an LTC, what suffices as "residency?"

I hope this is the right section to ask this question but I had a question regarding what actually qualifies as residency when applying for an LTC. I am going to be opening a lease in a green town where I go to school next year (cheaper than staying on campus) and will turn 21 about 3 months into the lease. I plan to live there for the duration of my undergrad education (3 more years in total) though I expect an interruption for a deployment.

My general question is, given that I will be a leaseholder living in a green town, even if I am a new resident at that time, will I be able to apply there? If not, what steps would I need to take to be eligible to apply there.

Thanks,

Mike

It seems that residency hinges on intent and wether you do the things needed. Do you plan to live there, change your DL address to there, voter registration, put that as you address for your taxes etc. If you are living there, and intend to live there (Not using it just as an address for LTC) then you should be fine.

I intend to live there for the duration of my time in school. So 3 more years in school plus 1 stuck in the middle where I will be in Afghanistan. So until 2014.

Mike

Mike - are you going to switch your DL plate registrations, voter reg, address on taxes to that address?

At least my voters reg, and if I re-register my car probably. I wasn't going to go out of my way to change everything... but I do plan on hunkering down there for a while.

Mike