AR Not Cycling

JCV

NES Member
I still have less than 500 rounds through the gun. Today about 50 shots in it wouldn't cycle more than one round. Id have to keep manually cycling the next round, not fun.
Any ideas on what it could be?
I just shot it Sunday and this happened a few times but I figured it was the old ass mag not feeding right. That wasn't the case today though.

What stage is the failure? Ejecting spent case? Feeding fresh round? Check the ejector on the BCG to make sure it's within spec still. Do you have crap on the feed ramps?

Sorry, it's not feeding the next round. Ejecting fine.
First round loads, fires, ejects case bolt locks forward but there is no round in the chamber. Pull the trigger click, obv nO boom because there is no round in the chamber. Pull the chargin handle back and release it to feed the next round and it fires fine, then it happens all over again.

Is that enough info? This is my first build so I'm not too familiar with everything yet.
The gun was cleaned a few hours before heading to the range today.

sounds like what they call 'short stroking'

the bolt moves back enough to extract and eject the spent case, but not far enough to strip the next round from the magazine.

post your rifle's specs. barrel length, gas system, buffer, ect

the bolt moves back enough to extract and eject the spent case, but not far enough to strip the next round from the magazine.

that definitely sounds to be the issue. I've heard people at the range say this but never gave a shit to look it up

Well since I helped with the build I should chime in..

Did you undo the gas block and put lock tight on the gas block set screws like I said you should? Maybe it shifted and causing a restriction ?

gas block and set screws do not belong in the same sentence