Best choice for common ammunition?

I'm looking for advice on a caliber (or calibers) to settle on for my firearms.

To give some context, what I'm looking for is to settle on a common caliber that will be flexible . I'm something of a prepper, so I'm putting together hardware primarily for emergency use. What I don't want to do is end up in a situation where I'm collecting many different round types. That gets unwieldy and inefficient.

I'm relatively new to firearms, though I have experience using and maintaining a few things. I've worked with 22 rifles, 410 and 12gauge shotguns, 22 and 9mm pistols, even handled some larger caliber items, just for the experience.

So, here's the questions, and please don't poke fun, I'm here to learn :)

1) Is there a common form factor that is used in both rifles and pistols? I'massuming not, as rifles tend to have a larger charge, and need a larger cartridge.

2) Assuming the above is true, I'm leaning toward 9mm for pistols (I like the size and commonality. I want something that is easy to get ammunition for). Iam in good health and relatively strong and have large hands, so I'm not worried about something I can't handle. I like the size and feel of, say a Sig 938, but I'm also keen on the 92FS, which fits me best.

3) For rifles, for no other reason than "it seems like a good idea", I'm leaning toward 30-06 caliber. I will be picking up a 22 rifle for practice and teaching others how to use a rifle, but I'd like something with long range accuracy and punch, and 30-06 seems right. I see -some- 9mm 'rifles' (which are presented as 'carbines') but they appear to be short-range skirmish type things. Nothing I'd use for hunting or sniping.

Unless there's a simpler formula that will let me have something small and carryable, something with decent handheld punch, and something with long range and accuracy, I'm already looking at stocking 9mm, 22 long, and 30-06 ammunition. Is there a way to make this simpler?