Colt AR-15 A2, Excessive Windage

I have a new to me pre-ban Colt Sporter Target A2 rifle. It's a carry handle A2 rifle.

I am finding that it requires about 16-18 clicks of the rear sight to the right to get me on target at 100 yards. I need to do some more shooting, as I'm not a great shot, but it groups pretty far left at mechanical zero. What is considered "in spec" when it comes to windage adjustment? The Colt uses tapered pins on the FSB, so no quick adjustment there without rotating the barrel.

Is there anything I should check for? There is no obvious cant to the FSB that I can detect without any tools, but I'm not experienced with this rifle.

I am in the South Shore area, is there a AR armorer that someone would recommend that could inspect my rifle for sight/barrel alignment issues? I'm guessing Colt won't cover such an old rifle, though by my estimation the rifle was hardly fired by the previous owner(s) and appears like new.

Usually it's the front sight that will be the problem. Maybe put the rifle upside down on a level surface- granite countertop, drafting table, etc. and see if you can notice whether or not the front site is canted a bit. The ears of the front site and 'rails' of the carry handle should more or less all sit flat. I have an old White Oak barrel that I bought slightly used. It used tapered pins but the front sight position was off, so I had to do a little more reaming to correct as best I could. I'll probably still go to a set screw front sight.

Maybe it's you? Have another person shoot it?