EOTech 516 & 517 Holosight info?

Cuz

NES Member
Does anyone have a EOTech 516 or 517 Holosight? I'm considering one for my AR15 because I think it will fit on my limited rail length and still allow me to mount a BUIS in front of it. I have a Bushmaster AR (A3 type) and when I remove the handle I want to be able to add electronic optics, but still maintain the ability to use backup iron sights. I know nothing about rifles so I'd like to hear from anyone who has any suggestions as to what kind of optics I can mount and still maintain the ability to have backup iron sights in case they are needed.

Thanks,
- Cuz.

I have a 512 that I use with a GG&G quick release and a BUIS.

ar_light.jpg

I have the 516 and it works out great! Because the battery compartment is slightly elevated above the rest of the unit, I can position it out further forward - out over the handguard slightly. This does free up room a the rear of the rail for BUIS.

This set-up eliminates the need for secondary mount.

NESAR004.jpg

Of course, one of my favorite features of this sight is that is uses the CR123 batteries - just like my tactical flashlights. Bought in bulk, they're still pretty reasonably priced.

I have the 516 and it works out great! Because the battery compartment is slightly elevated above the rest of the unit, I can position it out further forward - out over the handguard slightly. This does free up room a the rear of the rail for BUIS.

This set-up eliminates the need for secondary mount.

NESAR004.jpg

Of course, one of my favorite features of this sight is that is uses the CR123 batteries - just like my tactical flashlights. Bought in bulk, they're still pretty reasonably priced.