• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Firearms are now allowed in National Parks ?

I believe this has been discussed before, however....

https://www.nps.gov/jofi/learn/management/lawsandpolicies.htm

"Please remember that federal law prohibits firearms in certain park facilities and buildings. These places are marked with signs at public entrances."

No one wants to be a "Test Case", and I am no Lawyer. I get all my knowledge from the internet.

I visited the Lowell National Park yesterday, and the kids (and me) enjoyed the Canal Boats and Trolley. Highly recommended.

I did not carry, because I am law-abiding, and was unsure if it was legal or not.

Today I have been investigating online, and as a layman, the information published on nps.gov leads me to believe that CC by a person who can do so legally in Mass, can do so in the Lowell National Park.

I did pay careful attention to the signage at the Visitor's Center, and there are most definitely no signs that address firearms.

Like everyone says - wisely - concealed means concealed.

But after reading nps.gov I think CC anywhere in this park is legal.

What do you think ?

Last edited:
I hope this has changed, but my understanding from when carry became legal in national parks (subject to state laws), it still *excluded* federal buildings.

So, you can go into the park, but the bathroom shacks are off-limits, because they're buildings.

I'd like see an update to this that either confirms or denies that, the above interpretation is *logical*, but really stupid policy.

There was a change a few years ago. In general, carry in national parks is now allowed (if permissible under state law), but any buildings fall under the "federal building" ban and are off limits by law.