Firing .380 in a 9mm autoloader- Oops!

Hey my friends! I'm new to shooting and new to this site. No, I don't really have rusty barrels since I haven't had my guns long enough for them to get that way.

My question for you today involves the possible harm that might come from firing .380 cal through a 9mm gun (specifically a Beretta 9000s). I did just that the other day because I had some .380 lying around and I had heard you could fire it in a 9mm and I wanted to see how it would feel. Well! I only fired 10 rounds and none of them were powerful enough to cycle the gun. Some of the casings got stuck in the slide and some of them stayed in the chamber. In no case did the slide actually generate enough force to cock the hammer. I casually mentioned this foolish experience to my brother in an e-mail and he got a little freaked out. He is of the opinion that I now have to bring the gun to a gunsmith and he made it clear that he won't be in my vicinity when I shoot this gun until that is done. After firing the .380 I went on to fire about 70 rounds of 9mm without any problems at all (in fact, it was rather enjoyable) so it seems there was no catastrophic damage. Do you guys think I have a problem that requires a gunsmith (as in, my bro was right) or do you think I just have a problem with common sense and I should just stick to the proper ammunition (as in, I'm just a goddam idiot)?

Also,

Being how .380 is a smidge smaller than 9mm Para, it's a spendid way to potentially ruin your barrel as well, given that the bullet will not "seat" properly on it's way down the barrel.

Stick to what the gun is chambered for.

this threads a joke right?

if not im gonna go take some 357 magnums to the range tonight and feed em to my .38 airweight...ill post a range report when i leave the hospital

Being how .380 is a smidge smaller than 9mm Para, it's a spendid way to potentially ruin your barrel as well, given that the bullet will not "seat" properly on it's way down the barrel.