• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Getting guns from MA police custody to a friend in CT

EzGoingKev

NES Member
I have a friend that lives in CT that has a CT LTC. He has a brother that lives in MA. His brother had a MA LTC but got into some non-gun related trouble. His license was revoked and he had to turn his guns over to the local PD. The guns are (2) pistols and (1) shotgun.

I am a MA resident and have a LTC. He asked me if I could go to the local PD with his brother to take possession of the guns and take them to a MA FFL. He will have the MA FFL transfer them to an FFL in CT that will transfer the guns to him.

How much of a PIA is this? Is this the best way to do this?

Depends if the department still has them.

Many times they go to a "bonded warehouse" that will be left un-named for this discussion, where the storage fees soon are more than the value of the guns

I have a friend that lives in CT that has a CT LTC. He has a brother that lives in MA. His brother had a MA LTC but got into some non-gun related trouble. His license was revoked and he had to turn his guns over to the local PD. The guns are (2) pistols and (1) shotgun.

I am a MA resident and have a LTC. He asked me if I could go to the local PD with his brother to take possession of the guns and take them to a MA FFL. He will have the MA FFL transfer them to an FFL in CT that will transfer the guns to him.

How much of a PIA is this? Is this the best way to do this?