• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Gun shops and “can I see your license?”

Grendizer138

NES Member
I made a handgun purchase at my LGS the other day, and while they were processing the transfer I went to let my friend handle the gun. Both employees behind the counter put out their hands as a stop command and said “we need to see his license first!” I’d swear there was a record scratch and the place went silent and everyone was starring at us.

I’ll show my license to handle a gun if asked, but this was annoying. It’s not a law, it’s a policy we’ve all learned to live with. What if I’m an out of state resident and would ship it to my FFL if I bought it? Still not allowed to handle it?

I wish shops would cut the shit with this. But their shop their rules I guess.

I made a handgun purchase at my LGS the other day, and while they were processing the transfer I went to let my friend handle the gun. Both employees behind the counter put out their hands as a stop command and said “we need to see his license first!” I’d swear there was a record scratch and the place went silent and everyone was starring at us.

I’ll show my license to handle a gun if asked, but this was annoying. It’s not a law, it’s a policy we’ve all learned to live with. What if I’m an out of state resident and would ship it to my FFL if I bought it? Still not allowed to handle it?

I wish shops would cut the shit with this. But their shop their rules I guess.
Sounds like the type of shop I don't go to.

I wish shops would cut the shit with this.
But their shop their rules I guess.

Why would you out them for something this stupid?

It is their damn business. Did they sell you a gun or not?
If it’s not a big deal, then no one will care. I’ve been hyping Shooting Supply for years, they can handle me saying the license policy is stupid.

Doesn't it make sense, though?