• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Handguns/Safes and Ammo

Hey all, first time poster!

I'm a MA resident (for now) and I've got a few questions about MA gun laws. I apologize in advance if these have been covered, but there's a lot of misinformation out there, and laws are constantly changing. I guess I'll get right to it.

1- Is it legal to store ammunition WITH firearms in your HOME safe?

2- Is it legal to store LOADED magazines WITH firearms in your HOME safe?

3- Is it legal to store LOADED firearms in your HOME safe?

4- Is it legal to store/transport an unloaded handgun WITH loaded magazines TOGETHER in a VEHICLE? (In an approved, locked container)

5- Does a console safe (for a vehicle) qualify as an approved, locked container for transport/storage?

Looking forward to hearing your responses. TIA

Welcome.

1-4 Yes
4 - The locked container need not be "approved", just a locked container.
5 - is questionable. Some are designed such that LEOs would say OK. Others may or may not get a pass, based on design. Glove boxes and consoles are a gray area at this point in time.

Massachusetts residents 15 years and older who wish to possess, carry, and transport firearms, ammunition, and feeding devices are required to have a firearms license.
So youts and tweens are good to go, like with fishing licenses?
NES delivers!

ETA: Sounds like Civil Service Stupid Fish and Game Pamphlet Author got his webmaster certification.

I'm a MA resident (for now) and I've got a few questions about MA gun laws. I apologize in advance if these have been covered, but there's a lot of misinformation out there, and laws are constantly changing. I guess I'll get right to it.

4- Is it legal to store/transport an unloaded handgun WITH loaded magazines TOGETHER in a VEHICLE? (In an approved, locked container)