• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Help/Advice - Looking to try IDPA competition

I don't see what the big deal is with the Blackhawk. I see no inherent flaws with using one. I am not claiming it is the best holster by any means as I have zero experience, but I can't see why it wouldn't work for IDPA. I have heard NUMEROUS members here slam the blackhawk, but have never heard real reasoning behind why it is held in such low regards.

Without flaming me on this, I am asking a serious and legit question. Why do a lot of members here look down their noses at the Blackhawk?

I think that you'll find the vast majority of competitve shooters and conceal & carry types find no use for a retention holster. The fact that the serpa has the release button so close to the trigger doesn't help either. Your trigger finger should be nowhere near the trigger on the draw stroke.

Serpas have been known to jam up and lock the pistol in the holster. This will ruin your day if you travel to a match.

Their belt attachment is screwed on and a hard yank by someone can rip the holster right off your pants. Not an issue for competition, but an issue for carry and some do use Serpas for carry.

On the subject of carry, Serpas and other plastic belt holster like it (regardless of retention) conceal like a brick.

Serpas require you to push inwards with your trigger finger right over where the trigger is inside the holster. If you are not careful and continue that pushing motion as you draw, there is a higher (some say unacceptably high) chance that your finger will continue into the trigger guard and cause a negligent discharge.

A negligent discharge will automatically disqualify you from an IDPA match. More than one will have IDPA HQ talking to you, perhaps suspending or cancelling your membership.