• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Just bought a house in NH

I'm a MA resident. I have my ltc in MA and just bought a house in NH. I would like to have a safe in my NH house with pistols and rifles that are evil in MA.

My legal address will be MA still.

If i get a non resident permit, what does that change? i travel while carrying to NH all the time and and was told i didnt need a permit, so whats the point?

Can i walk into a NH gun shop and walk out with a firearm if im not transporting it to MA?

I'm a MA resident. I have my ltc in MA and just bought a house in NH. I would like to have a safe in my NH house with pistols and rifles that are evil in MA.
My legal address will be MA still. If i get a non resident permit, what does that change? i travel while carrying to NH all the time and and was told i didnt need a permit, so whats the point?
Can i walk into a NH gun shop and walk out with a firearm if im not transporting it to MA?
Getting your non-resident NH pistol/revolver license won't change your difficulty in buying from an FFL in NH when all your ID says Mass.
What town?
Unlike MA, doesn't matter what town.
Until you switch over your driver's license (state ID), I don't know of any town which will issue a resident pistol/revolver license to a part-time resident.

NH FFL’s will sell to me as a MA resident?
They can, if you supply proof of NH residency. Many will not take the risk of selling when you can't provide a DL nor car/voter registration documents.

See for example example https://www.atf.gov/file/55496/download
ATF said: