m&p 40 range report

On tuesday i bought a new m&p40, joined a club wednesday and hit the range last night to try it out. I plan to get a trigger job in the very near future and i attribute my god awful accuracy to the trigger.

The gun fired perfect for all 100 round i put through it. Not one hiccup.

I don't have a scale or anything with which i could accurately measure the trigger pull and I'm not sure how good my estimate would be since i am new to handguns, but I would venture to say if FAR EXCEEDS 10lbs (like maybe as high as 15+lbs) and it is not a consistent pull. It pulls easy until right before it breaks and then you have to really pull hard. So hard, in fact that my hand starts to shake.

At 50' I wasn't even hitting the paper for some shots so i pulled it back to 21'. All shots on paper, scattered at first.

After a little practice, I was consistently putting shots at 7 o'clock which a chart i saw indicates that I am "jerking". This is probably the case since i have to pull so god damned hard.

So within the next week or so, my gun will be headed out for a trigger job to bring it to a smooth 5lbs.

As is, i would not feel confident that i could rely on this gun in a self defense situation unless the BG is within 20 feet of me.

Do you guys think that the low left (7 o'clock) shot placement is the result of the grotesque trigger or do I just suck?

Thanks.

The trigger doesn't help. But you would need a qualified instructor to watch you to really determine the problem.

One issue with a heavy trigger is that most people when forced to stress one part of the hand tend to also grip tighter with the rest of the hand. Very much a likely situation for the case in your statement that you started to shake.

It CAN be worked out over time, but its likely a better idea to get a decent trigger first.

The trigger doesn't help. But you would need a qualified instructor to watch you to really determine the problem.