• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

MA deer shotgun season

rogerk

NES Member
Unseasonably warm opener. Any of you put eyes on a shooter/freezer filler? My guess is the rut has come and gone, all that excitement goes towards archery season.

I’ll head out tomorrow to a WMA and test my luck. First time doing a public land hunt so mentally preparing to see a clown-show.

Unseasonably warm opener. Any of you put eyes on a shooter/freezer filler? My guess is the rut has come and gone, all that excitement goes towards archery season.

I’ll head out tomorrow to a WMA and test my luck. First time doing a public land hunt so mentally preparing to see a clown-show.
I had a buck chasing a doe in my back yard this past Saturday. The peak of the rut is behind us but anything can happen still.

Last edited:

I'm a mass resident but lucky enough to live right on the nh border. Nh muzzle loader starts end of October and fire arm season opened Nov 8. Can use guns all during the rut. My son and I have one deer each in nh and still got till Sunday (yeah....and Sunday hunting is legal) to try for another one. Heading out today actually. Mass can take its stupid 2 week shotgun season and stuff it up its ass. I have mass license but won't go out during shotgun season. If I'm bored later on during the muzzle loader season I may take the Thompson center for a stroll.....but I'd say this may be my last year even buying a mass hunting license.

Tail end of rut still rolling....I haven't seen any deer around but guys with cams have a few bucks in the dark hours as usual, and that is the indication, as in Sept/Oct their cams show nothing, or the occasional doe.

Depending where you hunt Eastern MA will likely be a clown show because there is no where to hunt with a gun......at least there's some deer around though.