Machining a G17 slide...

Hey all,

I bought one of these:

If I were to machine serrations on the front of the slide, or a cut for an RMR, what needs to be done to protect the bare metal i've just exposed? or is it fine how it is? The site says it has an aluminum oxide coating.

sidenote: I'm a CNC machinist by trade with access to proper machine tools.

Hey all,

I bought one of these:

If I were to machine serrations on the front of the slide, or a cut for an RMR, what needs to be done to protect the bare metal i've just exposed? or is it fine how it is? The site says it has an aluminum oxide coating.

I don't think you'd have to worry too much for an RMR cut. Maybe bluing at the cheapest level of protection, but a tight fitting RMR shouldn't require it from what I've read. Slide serrations though--wouldn't that require complete refinishing the entire slide? I mean, you could keep the raw cut look I suppose, but that would be exposed. Whatever the case, just don't break $60. for your efforts, as then you could have just purchased one pre-cut for RMR and front serrations.

Hey all,

I bought one of these:

Absolutely refinish with something. The slide is steel and will rust without protection. At a minimum, so some bluing of the exposed parts. Or you could use paint if you don’t mind it looking odd. If it were a Glock slide, I’d refinish it with a Glock finish, but for that, cerakoting it would be good.

Absolutely refinish with something. The slide is steel and will rust without protection. At a minimum, so some bluing of the exposed parts. Or you could use paint if you don’t mind it looking odd. If it were a Glock slide, I’d refinish it with a Glock finish, but for that, cerakoting it would be good.
dude they are 416 stainless steel.