• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Need New Bow!

Looking for help finding some good websites that offer reputable ready-to-shoot packages like you can find on Huntersfriend.com (found them thanks to someone on this forum). Want to get something all tuned up and ready to go so I only have to play with it a little bit to get it shooting right. I don't want to go through the whole set up/tune process myself. I would love to but just don't have the time.

Any other good options out there? Hunters Friend looks great but the least expensive RTS package is $550+. Thanks.

archerytalk.com has a Classifieds section where you can get great bows for good deals. they may not have package bows vbut they often have really nice bows for around 500. even if you get a package you would need to go to a shop to get it tuned.

I'm not a bow expert, but we do custom bows in our shop. If you're using the bow for plinking you can get a ready made one, but if you're hunting you need pinpoint accuracy and I don't think that can happen without a proper fitting.
There are just too many variables. Just my thought.[grin]

Talk to C-pher, Bass Pro has some decent gear for decent price. If you are out this way (Foxboro) you could also try Reedy's Archery (they have active web site). Ebay also has good deals.

You need to know if you are left or right eye dominant, this is key, trust me. You might think you are one when in fact you are the other. You will get used to shooting correctly with a little practice.

Every Sunday there are 3D shoots if you want to try your luck at stationary, unknown yardage, realistic animal targets.

Minimum poundage for hunting big game is 40 lbs. IIRC. Don't think you can buy a bow today and hunt tomorrow, it's easy to learn but not that easy.

Last edited: