New guy wants to know: Where to start?

Hello,

I'm new to shooting and am interested in competitive shooting, but it's not clear to me where to start.

The general advice everyone gives for the first gun is a .22, which seems reasonable, but where does this fit into the scheme of things in the competitions? If I want to get into competition, do i have to go out and buy 2-3 guns right away?

Can a low end .22 (say a s&w model 22 or equivilent) hold up against a higher end model? (I know an $$$$ gun in my hands will be no better than a cheap one, but what about later on?)

Can someone give me a breakdown of the competition types available in MA and how a newer shooter might participate? I am looking for a local gun club with some form of competative shooting to join. Is there a association I should look for?

Thanks in advance,
Matt

Welcome to the forum Matt!

GOAL membership would be a wise idea. Their monthly newspaper also lists most competitions held in MA . . . it typically runs a number of pages long.

I am NOT a competitive shooter, so I'll let others fill in the details.

Every gun club seems to participate in a county league with pistol and rifle shooting weekly. They use .22LR for the pistol matches.

There is IDPA/IPSC (defensive style shooting) and Cowboy shooting matches at various clubs.

CMP/High Power rifle matches with military rifles (M1, AR15, M14/M1A1, etc.) are also frequent matches.

First you should figure out if you want to do pistol shooting or rifle shooting, that will help narrow it down some.

As you can see, there is a lot to choose from here.

Matt:

Bullseye competition with a local club would be a good place to start. Our club (Riverside in Hudson, MA) competes in the Maspenock League, which includes a number of local clubs.