Private Sale of a handgun - NH resident to MA resident

Hi all,

I have a friend who legally purchased a new SIG P226R DAK (10 rd mags). He would like to sell it to me. He is a NH resident, and I am a MA resident possessing an LTC-A ALP. Can anyone offer guidance about the process? I would really like to purchase the firearm, but it is not MA-Compliant, so I can't get it at a dealer here. Can I still purchase it from my friend in a private sale? Thanks for your help!

Interstate handgun transfer must go through an FFL in your state(MA). If its a non MA AG compliant gun, the dealer cannot sell it to you.

Interstate handgun transfer must go through an FFL in your state(MA). If its a non MA AG compliant gun, the dealer cannot sell it to you.

Yes, as doing a private sale across state lines is what's called a "Straw Purchace." And that's gounds for you to lose your license, as I believe it's a felony.

I'm sure one of our residents law dogs will have more details.

Yes, as doing a private sale across state lines is what's called a "Straw Purchase." And that's gounds for you to lose your license, as I believe it's a felony.

I'm sure one of our residents law dogs will have more details.

C-pher, you have the right idea but the wrong terminology.

A "straw purchase" is not related to the issue here as far as we know.

Fed Law dictates that ALL interstate gun purchases MUST involve an FFL. They allow us to purchase a long gun from ONLY an FFL in any state (as long as state law allows it), BUT ALL HANDGUN sales are ONLY allowed in the "state of buyer's residence" from an instate FFL in this case. Violation is a Fed Felony, with rights to a free, all-expense paid vacation at the Gray Bar Hotel.

Since a gun isn't MA compliant, the MA FFL is prohibited by MGLs from making the transfer.

Bottom line, you can't buy this gun, given the circumstances you outlined.

It wouldn't be a straw purchase as such. Here is the definition: