Revolver, stuck cylinder and bad rounds?

Ok here is my “amateurish shooter” question for the month.

At the range the other day I started shooting .38’s and had two rounds of factory ammo not fire, so then I move to .357’s and after shooting them the cylinder would not release from the gun. I had to bang it pretty good to open it. Then after reloading the cylinder it would not go back into the frame. So I put the gun down relaxed and tried again, this time it closed up and fired the rest of the magnums fine.

So anyways what would cause the cylinder not to open and/or close?

And

If two out of fifty rounds do not fire should I just tack this up to a couple bad rounds or a possible problem with the firing pin?

The gun is a S&W 620 and only about 6 months old and has never given me any problems.

Tighten up the extractor rod (the thing you push to extract the cartridges). This often loosens up with use and will cause exactly the condition you describe.

Some recent S&Ws are alleged to have short firing pins. I don't know if the 620 is on this list. If problems continue send or take in in for service, it should be under warranty.
Cylinder sticking is a known problem with S&W revolvers. Because they are closely fitted, unburned powder or other debris can get under the extractor star and bind up the cylinder, however, do check the cylinder pin for tightness as well. note that the S&W cylinder pins have a left-hand thread.
If your ammo is leaving powder grains in the chambers and barrel you will have to brush out the recess for the extractor. I've heard folks recommend pointing the barrel straight up when removing the fired casings to keep powder grains from getting under the extractor.
Missfires with domestic factory centerfire ammo are pretty rare. The gun is probably more likely to cause the problem. All bets are off with imported ammo or reloads.
Another thing to check on S&Ws is the strain screw at the bottom of the frontstrap. It should always be tight.