Vietnam was a long time ago......

+ 1,000,000

When I go to VFW meetings and the Korea and Vietnam gus are there, I feel like an unworthy little bitch.

When I came home, the older VFW guy's were just as disrespectful as the hippies.....I will not make the mistakes of my Father's generation!

You get the same respect from me for being a Vet......no matter when you served.

When I came home, the older VFW guy's were just as disrespectful as the hippies.....I will not make the mistakes of my Father's generation!

Same experience. I went to a local VFW with a couple friends shortly after returning from Vietnam. Knowing nothing about requirements etc., I asked a couple gentlemen at the bar, who I assumed to be a WW2 vets, about joining. One asked if I was a vet and whether I'd been involved in a foreign war. I told him that I had one tour in Vietnam. His answer was that to join you had to have been involved in a "real" war. The other guy sort of snickered.

I got the message and have never been back.

Same experience. I went to a local VFW with a couple friends shortly after returning from Vietnam. Knowing nothing about requirements etc., I asked a couple gentlemen at the bar, who I assumed to be a WW2 vets, about joining. One asked if I was a vet and whether I'd been involved in a foreign war. I told him that I had one tour in Vietnam. His answer was that to join you had to have been involved in a "real" war. The other guy sort of snickered.

Dustoff, there will be a jerk or two in every crowd. They were probably remington raiders (office poges ) in WW11. You can bet your bippy that they didn't fly medivac. Why not give the VFW another shot. I probably should too.

You get the same respect from me for being a Vet......no matter when you served.

I could be wrong, but I think what Obie is saying, is that he is humbled by what they did, not that they were being disrespectful.
Bill's take is what I meant.