Vinyl or Fiberglass Replacement Windows

I am finally getting Pella Replacement Windows....

Can someone please tell me if it is worth the extra money investing in the fiberglass windows rather than vinyl?

Basically, the fiberglass windows are double the cost of the vinyls.

They appear to feel heavier and of better construction, but double the cost of vinyl.... seriously.....

Has anyone replaced there windows with either recently, likes....? dislikes....?

Much thanks!

I just put up vinyl a few months back and so far I like them. It was the end of winter so I’m not sure what to expect regarding energy savings yet but overall look and function is a huge improvement over my old windows.

I looked at the fiberglass too and couldn’t get past the price jump either. They seemed a lot stronger and more ridged but I didn’t see that it made any difference in how well the opened or installed in the showroom models I looked at.

Disclaimer: I’m no expert regarding windows. Read nothing into these comments.

I have installed thousands of replacement windows and the biggest qualifier to your question is how large is the window. Small windows vinyl is fine but as you approach 32"x65" or larger the extra rigidity will pay off over time. I would also say it is a salesman game and there are equal or better windows out there at a better price than pella, what are they getting per opening and whats included?

I am finally getting Pella Replacement Windows....

Can someone please tell me if it is worth the extra money investing in the fiberglass windows rather than vinyl?

Basically, the fiberglass windows are double the cost of the vinyls.

They appear to feel heavier and of better construction, but double the cost of vinyl.... seriously.....

Has anyone replaced there windows with either recently, likes....? dislikes....?

Much thanks!

we choose the Pella fiberglass and had them installed last December. They are awesome