• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Anyone Work Comms for Boston Marathon?

cockpitbob

NES Member
I've never worked a public service event before and this Monday I'll be in First Aid Tent #14 in Wellesley. That's more than half way through the course so it should see a bit of action.

Being a public service green horn, jumping into one of the biggest events to get my feet wet is a little daunting.

I've got my HT, back-up HT, programming cheat sheets, spare batteries, 18" long antenna, HTs pre-programmed with all the event frequencies, pens and notebook, ear bud adapter and ear buds, speaker mic and a a few other things, but it looks like the no backpacks rule applies to volunteers too, so I'm going to have a very long day without being able to bring a lot of gear. They say fanny packs are OK, but oh, the shame.

Anyone work the Marathon? Got any advice?

Last edited:
Clear plastic kid's backpack or a photographer's vest come to mind. I heard that backpacks aren't verboten, just subject to searches.

I have a feeling we're going to have sore feet Monday night.

BTW, there's after-parties Monday evening at a Boston bar and Fenway, and the Fenway one you can bring a guest(s?). Do you know anything about them? I'm thinking my wife and 2 teenage boys might enjoy the Fenway thing.

yeah I don't know much about them either but my wife and were considering Fenway with our 7 year old since I took the week off and he's on school vacation.

My plan for the day is comfy shoes and plenty of water, though since camelbak's are out I'll have a bunch in a cooler in my truck.

I worked comms at the marathon back in 2001 or 2002. FA station around mile 19 or 20. It was fun. Back then I was all about crossband repeating through my car using 440.