Canning classes

doobie

Banned
Hi,

I'm targeting Sunday, July 13th to host a canning class in Dunbarton, NH. If you are interested please let me know. I can only host/teach about 6-8 people at a time.

My current thoughts are the following:
1) I can stuff for 'myself' and after we're done people can buy some of what I've canned
2) Everyone can bring some subset of ingredients, and pay for jars and we split what we can

I have a canner that I can can about 12-16 (I forgot) pint sized and 6-8 quart sized jars. I figure we can can one thing, then do some non-pressure canner stuff (jams, etc). Then maybe do another pressure canner batch.

If someone has a spare canner we can do more. Please note that I am not an expert canner, but I have been canning for about 3 or 4 years now (minus the past year and a half when I had plans to move to NH).

Ideas:
  • French Onion Soup
  • Pasta sauce
  • Beef stew
  • Fruit Jam

More details will be posted as it gets closer. This is being cross posted to a couple of forums. If interest is high I may have a second date.

I'd come, but I already have plans for that weekend that cannot be changed. If you do a second class, I'd be very interested.

I may try to have another one in August or so (depending on how the first one goes). I'll keep you posted.

Space is running out fast... two spots (other websites) taken for July. I'm tentatively going to schedule one for the end of August.

I so far have 2 people who will probably be there for the 13th and 2 who will show up possibly another day. Anyone else?

This sounds interesting. We have canned jam, mostly blueberry (picked by us of course!). I will check my schedule. Should be a good time just to hang out with new people and learn from each other. BBQ sauce is another good one to do. I have done that one before. Brewed up a batch and canned it. YUMMY!

Dude, I love that criminalsforguncontrol site! I am going to send that to a few of my liberal anti aquaintances...