carrying a handgun legal?

Status
Not open for further replies.
hey guys, i'm a maine resident and now i have a new mp .45. I'll be carrying it on occasion but, i'm not completely aware of the laws related to handguns.

i'm working on getting myself handgun course so i can apply for ccw permit. With out ccw, can is till carry a handgun? In my holster on my side, can it be loaded or has to be empty? no ammo in the chamber or mag... or what?

if you can enlighten me on this, i'd be happy. thanks a bunch.

PS: my cousin can carry loaded glock in north carolina, but i know every states are different so i'm asking here.

You cannot carry a concealed firearm without a license as you already know.

You can open carry (unconcealed) a weapon however, you may well attract unwanted attention. While open carrying there don't appear to be any restrictions on whether or not it is loaded or what condition it is in.

It's that simple.

I suggest reading the Maine Section of the Firearms Law area of this website.

yeah i did look... i wasnt sure if there was anything needed for open carry because i know that in few areas, you have to have a permit for carrying handguns. i knew that we can conceal it and i never intend to.

however i'm unsure about the part about the condition of the gun rather it's loaded or not. I've never seen any one with a carry that has no mag in the gun. But i never thought about "is the gun loaded?"

yeah i did look...
I'm fighting the urge to Scrivener you here...

i wasnt sure if there was anything needed for open carry because i know that in few areas, you have to have a permit for carrying handguns.

Yup. The whole state of Maine.

i knew that we can conceal it and i never intend to.

I'm not sure what you meant by "we" in fact, this whole sentence is confusing.

however i'm unsure about the part about the condition of the gun rather it's loaded or not.

Well, we just cleared that up for you.