• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

FFL Difficulties

Hello All
I am new to the hobby and first time needing an FFL. I recently placed an order for 2 stripped AR lowers with a company. They ship to MA as long as they go to an FFL. On their site, they have a list of FFL. I found one very close to my home that I thought I would try. I know who the owner of the hardware(!) store. Ex military, not a friendly person, I just ignore him and his business. No bad blood. just is what it is. This was a low dollar experiment since I half expected him to do this. I go in person to try and talk to him, he wasn't available. I email him letting him know said company needs his info to ship. Next thing I know I get a "shipped" email! Than 2 days later a response from him saying he won't do it due to having too many questions. No idea what that means. I reply saying happy to answer anything and even come in to discuss. Yesterday I get a message saying item delivered, than a response from him saying the lowers aren't MA compliant. I have lot's more to say on this, but, without opening a sh*% can of arguments here, does he have an obligation being a license holder to do the transfer? Should I contact the state? My last email response was, "My understanding of the law is that until they are built, they are perfectly compliant and not a firearm." I have no problem registering everything with the State once completed, per the law. I also just asked him to ship them back to the company who I have notified and they said they would re ship once returned to another, more amenable FFL. Thoughts??

Courtesy is asking your FFL first before you send anything his way. You've learned a lesson about FFL's in MA. Why not just buy your lowers in person from an FFL locally. Call around or look in the dealer classifieds,..