First Handgun... these look good so far

Greetings NES... I am new to handguns. I am hoping to buy my first in the next few months depending on when my application clears and my licence is approved.

I have done a little research and read some reviews and these four seem to be good for me. I took my Basic Safety Course at Mass Firearms School in Holliston MA, (Awesome place, Awesome dudes). They use Glock pistols (not sure model) for safety demo. I wasn't happy with the slide lock location. My thumbs are kind of stubby and I fumbled with the slide lock. It was pretty awkward.

Anyway, I am going to go back to MFS since you can try them before you buy them. This is what I am looking at:

Sig Sauer P2022 9mm (slide removal might be a little more difficult)
H&K VP9 9mm
S&W M&P 9mm
H&K P2000 9mm

Originally I was looking at a Ruger SR9 but I heard some complaints about slides not cycling properly. I think the previous 4 are better options now that I've read into it a bit.

Anyway, They're all under $700.00 which is where I need to be. They all received good reviews , so far, and are available in 9mm, which I want to start with until I get more experience, then maybe upgrade to .40 opinions and insight will be appreciated...

If $700 is your range, you've mentioned some fine choices there. I'll let someone with experiece with them fill you in.
My first was a Ruger SR9C, and its been flawless. IMO, good option at a lower entry point. Not sure if the fullsize SR9 has a different rep.

If your concern with the slide lock on a glock is releasing the slide, there's an years long ongoing debate about using the slide release .vs. "slingshotting the slide". Google it.

Your plan to go to MFS, (or any range) is good, definitely "try before you buy".

Are you intending to carry this first gun. If not I would add the Beretta 92fs to your list. It is a great gun but a little big and heavy to carry. It is a pretty soft shooter and is very reliable and accurate

All good choices.