Newbe question

Hope someone can help out a novice here???

I'm looking for my first firearm, a semi-automatic pistol. I am going to use it for recreational shooting.

My question is: What (if any) is the difference between a regular semi-automatic pistol (like a Glock or Sig P226) and a 1911 model pistol (e.g. the very nice looking S&W 1911)?

Sorry about the newbee question....

Wow this is a pretty big question, there is a great deal different in those guns. I suggest you do some reading on them b/c depending on the interest in this thread you may walk away very confused. And u probably can't put Glock and Sig down as the same either, there is a lot of difference between them as well.

Thanks..I've reviewed both the Sig and Glock spec. and am pretty sure of the differences between them. I was just wondering if there's a specific thing that makes a 1911 a 1911. Sounds like there isn't....

Thanks..I've reviewed both the Sig and Glock spec. and am pretty sure of the differences between them. I was just wondering if there's a specific thing that makes a 1911 a 1911. Sounds like there isn't....

Yup, "John Moses Browning"!! [laugh]

Invest $19, become a paid member, attend the shoot later this month in <Central>, MA and get a chance to try out a number of different guns. Best way to make a choice is try before you buy, when possible. NES Members Only shoots are good places to get that experience cheaply.

Last edited:
The 1911 is a single action pistol. That means that you need to have the hammer back before you fire, generally done by pulling back and releasing the slide which chambers a round. With striker fired pistols or double actions like the Sigs, the hammer isn't back or in the case of the Glock there is no hammer. With double action pistols like the Sig, a pull of the trigger will pull the hammer back mechanically and then release it, and subsequent shots will be single or double action depending on the model you have.