• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Planning move out of state (MA to NH)

Unrestricted LTC in MA in a green town
I have a house I live in, in that town

I have a commerical property for a business in that town (retail store front)

I have another business that is regional NH/MA (real estate services/investment)

The plan is to move to NH and rent out my current MA home next year. I have a two family so I plan on keeping the smaller side for myself but it will not be where I stay the majority of the time.

I will end up spending the majority of my time in MA.

Would it be possible to keep my LTC from my green town or do I need to apply for the non resident with the state . What are the chances I would be restricted?

my background is 100% clean

Last edited:
you apply for a "resident" LTC with your business address in the town where your business is located. When I moved from Westford to NH I did the notifications and then applied for an LTC in Chelmsford. No need to go to the state. You may want to speak with the COP as it is all 1 town. You may only need to do a "change of address" with the town and state listing your business as the new address. Chances are, the COP won't know either. Maybe call FRB. @Len-2A Training (?) should be along to advise. The town of Westford did NOT actually "expire" my LTC when I moved out of state. SO it was still valid. When Chelmsford issued my LTC, we had to get Chelmsford to expire my LTC so Westford could activate the new one.

The plan is to move to NH and rent out my current MA home next year. I have a two family so I plan on keeping the smaller side for myself but it will not be where I stay the majority of the time.

So you will spend the majority of the year in Mass,
but most of that time you will live in some other Mass house?

Is that different residence in the same Mass town as your current residence?