• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Swedish Mauser

gerrycaruso

NES Member
Does anyone else shoot an 1896 Swedish Mauser? They're very smooth and accurate rifles. I was hitting the steel at 300 yards at Harvard with one of mine. Even with open sights and old eyes it still works fine. I'm amazed that a cartridge developed in 1891 is so close to the 6.5 Creedmoor. One of my rifles has a sling and thread protector on the muzzle. The other has neither. Does anyone know where I might find those items? I'd get bayonets also if I could find them even though I'm a bit old for a bayonet charge. I don't think I could run that far anymore.

Ahhh, finally someone with some class. The Swedish Mausers are probably the most accurate surplus rifles you can buy. The 6.5 doesn't give up anything to the Creedmoor or the 6.5-08. I've been dumping deer with mine for quite a few years now. I use my CG63 at 600 yards with very good results.

So mad for not snagging a swede when samco had them cheap. Even the snipers 41bs where cheap....I was busy getting U.S. Surplus . Friend picked one up and it is slick looks like new. Shoots like a dream. Someday

Been on my radar. I let a nice tiger striped one slip away a month or two ago. Shouldve pulled the trigger.

I just shot one for the first time today at Braintree. Buddy from work has one and brought it out. The recoil was a lot less than I expected. Was very enjoyable to shoot.

I have six, including a rather rare model, a 1900 made by Mauser Obendorf in Berlin for the Swedes , one of a special run of 5000. Mine has a two digit serial number and had at some point ben arsenal converted to the short rifle