• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Talk to me about Japanese Arisaka Type 99 WWII rifles

Rockrivr1

NES Member
As I go through my World War collection I’m well represented with US, British, Russian and German firearms. What I’m missing is something from Japan. But, that may soon change. I’ve been offered a Japanese Arisaka Type 99 Nagoya rifle w/ intact Mum for a really good price. It also comes with 7.7 Jap ammo.

Thing is I have no knowledge of these rifles. Are they any good? From online reviews they are but wondering if anyone has any experience with them. So what’s your thought on them? Anything I should be aware of?

I know enough to know I don’t know enough to advise you.

These rifles had several “generations” characterized by features that were added or (more commonly) deleted to simplify production as Japan lost industrial capacity. So an early war model will have nifty things like antiaircraft sights, which were deleted later.

I do know they’re supposed to have two-piece buttstocks, usually with a very poor grain match. So if the buttstock looks cheap, it’s probably correct. Fake mums are a thing too, sometimes very skillfully done.

With the exception of the "last ditch" Jap rifles, the Arisakas are regarded as the strongest bolt action rifles used during WWII.
If that is what you considered any good.

If you can get one with original monopod, aircraft sight wings, and intact Mum, you've got a very collectable rifle.

Ammo is hard to find, but you can make brass from .3006 brass and it works fine.
Overall finish isn't as nice as a Springfield, but early ones have chrome lines barrels.
Like all milsurps, it's only going to go up in price. If you've got a good one at a good price, get it!

I was lucky enough to inherit my grandfather’s 99 he brought back, complete with bayonet.