Where can I get into USPSA shooting?

Check out www.uspsa-ne.org. Boston Gun and Rifle in Dorchester runs matches in the winter, but they're done for the season. At this point, you'll have to drive about 45 mins to an hour outside the city. Harvard, Manville, and New Bedford are all about that distance. I can vouch for Harvard and NB putting on excellent matches, I haven't been to Manville yet.

Supermoto runs some classes at Ames in Easton. That is how I got into the sport. Independent Sportsmen's Club in Foxboro also does practice runs that are USPSA like.

Manville has fewer stages than New Bedford and Harvard, but the stages are a lot of fun.

Last edited:
I'm brand new to this. Do they run intro classes or something along that line?

Thanks!

Are you brand new to action shooting in general or just USPSA? If you have experience safely drawing from the holster and reloading, I'd say just skim through the rulebook and go to a match. Tell the staff that you're new, and they'll help you out. That's what I did. If you can get out to Harvard at 5PM on Wednesdays, they run practices then.

New to action shooting. Just got my LTC A last week and bought my first semi pistol a day later. I'm a safe gun owner and shooter. Would like to try some USPSA to see if it feels right.

If you're that new to guns, I suggest seeking out a class. There's a difference between being safe plinking on the range and being safe shooting while moving through a USPSA field course. It's the same basic safe gunhandling, but there's a lot more other stuff to distract you from it in a match. Do you have a holster and mag carriers yet?

You can come to my practice Sat at Ames at 2:30. I'll teach you everything you need to know for your first match. Bring a strong side holster, some mag pouches and ammo.