• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Deer Hunters: What's your sidearm?

At the club last night one of the trap regulars was asking about handguns. The older dudes there were quick to give their opinions, and a lively discussion ensued. I kept out of it as I'm a noob at this club and I shoot trap and skeet with a borrowed gun, so what the eff do I know, right?

The guy asking about handguns is one of the younger guys - probably 40ish. He's a deer hunter and is interested in a handgun to take with him into the field. The older guys were spouting off about all kinds of stuff and their opinions were confusing our hunter. Sort of like good natured information overload.

I suggested that he try out different models to determine his preferences, but that my suggestion would be for a revolver in .44M or .357M for his purpose. I'm thinking of a .44 for my next handgun purchase (probably not until next year [sad2]), so I could be biased, but that's what I'd want with me in the bush.

However, I'm not a deer hunter. I don't own a rifle (yet) and I don't know how much gear the guy will be humping through the woods. A big revolver is a heavy sumbitch, and that could be a consideration. So, in a roundabout way, I'm interested in what you hunters strap to your hip when you're on the hunt.

What do you deer hunters use for a sidearm?

To add some context: he was talking about a hunting trip to northern Maine. I'm not a hunter so I wasn't aware of the MA prohibition.

Last edited:
I have taken a sidearm out in Maine, while blackbear hunting (bow). It was also advised we take a sidearm with us in the pitch black, middle of the night, while trying to stumble out to the latrine.