• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Scope Help

I'm pretty new to scopes in general. I have always used iron sights in the past an done pretty well but I want to put a scope on my plinking 22 to see what kind of distances I can hit. I have an old Mossberg 380 thats in great shape and it is very accurate. So what would be a reasonable magnification for this and what falls in the $50-100 price range. I know big bucks can be spent on scopes but I just can't put a $300+ scope on a $75 gun. There are a bunch of scopes in this price range on cabellas and www.sportsmanguide.com but I don't know what is complete junk and whats decent. Help!! =)

Wal-Mart sells a Tasco 3-9x40mm scope for around $45.00......

I have one on my Marlin .22 bolt and one on my Marlin .22 auto. They're high power rated so more than sufficient for those two applications.

+1

I know big bucks can be spent on scopes but I just can't put a $300+ scope on a $75 gun.

When you buy "glass", always buy the best you can afford. The benefits will become evident later on. It's not like you can't take that scope and put it on a better rifle later on and every time you use the scope, you'll enjoy it.
While spending $700-800 might seem a bit overboard, it makes a $300 scope look a bit more economical.
Just a thought brought on from past experiences.
CJC

A fixed 4X scope will more than suffice for a "plinking" .22 and it won't break the bank. Save your money and put good scopes on good rifles.

I know big bucks can be spent on scopes but I just can't put a $300+ scope on a $75 gun.

When you buy "glass", always buy the best you can afford.

Both very true...

While I completely agree that when buying glass for a rifle, it is not always the best idea to buy the cheapest...Good glass is always something I take into consideration.