• If you enjoy the forum please consider supporting it by signing up for a NES Membership  The benefits pay for the membership many times over.

Secure COMMS

@MaverickNH , do you participate in those or are you just passing along the info. I'm fairly new to actually getting on the radio and don't necessarily understand what most nets are for, but that seems interesting. It looks like we missed this month's nets for AmRRON, but I'd at least like to check it out and give it a listen and maybe check in.

@MaverickNH , do you participate in those or are you just passing along the info. I'm fairly new to actually getting on the radio and don't necessarily understand what most nets are for, but that seems interesting. It looks like we missed this month's nets for AmRRON, but I'd at least like to check it out and give it a listen and maybe check in.
I’ve done ARES for a few years but am just venturing into this area of Emcomms. I just applied to join AmRRon - dunno their inside story. Any group that mentions Oathkeepers on their About page is probably on DHS/DOJ watchlists.I learned of them when purchasing a PreppComm MMX-20/40/80 MMX QRP Morse Code Transceiver | Texting on HF via Keyboard! That unit has gotten a lot of reviews with little mentioned about their connection with AmRRon.

Nets are a mix of social and practical radio/comms - many mostly one or the other. My local club net is a 7pm 2m repeater checkin where people just chat about their day briefly. ARES is about drill and training exercise, with live/web meetings for training.

Prepping in any form can be boring as hell, getting ready for something that never comes. Good Emcomms programs provide a mix of social and practical engagement to at least keep it interesting.

Last edited: